What is love?

I have never met one single individual that has not said that the road of finding a partner was easy.  In fact, it’s quite the opposite.  It can be the most beautiful and amazing feeling in the world, but yet it can also be the most devastating.  While Hollywood fills our heads with what we should expect out of love, little does anyone know the damage it does to relationships in the real world.  We expect the fairy tale of finding our one true love and riding off into the sunset: just like a Disney films where the hero saves the damsel, they go through a couple adventures, and then live happily ever after.

Who thought of those kind of endings anyways?

Speaking for myself, I was one of those girls who was consumed with the imagery of her “happily ever after”, including my Prince Charming coming to save me on his horse (My Prince actually drove a Charger when I met him, so close enough).  Even though I was involved in church and Biblical studies, where love is mentioned 310 times in the NKJ Bible, I still dreamed of having a romance like the movies and books I adored so much.  And I know that I’m not the only one!  But why are we so infatuated with the love stories of Hollywood when, in reality, it’s not sunshine and roses?

In my past relationships, the word “love” was used quite often, but what about showing that we love someone?  Instead of just saying that you love someone, where are the actions to prove your words?  Is it having your boyfriend/girlfriend/wife/husband/partner taking you out to a romantic dinner and spending $200 on lobster?  Is it having that other person brag to their friends about the vacation you two took?  Is it portraying a perfect life on social media for your friends or the world to see?

No, but that’s what the 21st century seems to think.

The Apostle Paul gives such a beautiful definition of what love is and how God made it to be:

“Love is patient and kind.  Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude.  It does not demand its own way.  It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged.  It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out.  Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.”

1 Corinthians 13:4-7

During my times of heartache, which there was plenty,  I would often wonder why something so beautiful could cause so much pain.  I thought I was doing everything right.   I struggled daily with questions of “why isn’t this working?” or “what am I doing wrong?” for many years.  Until God answered those questions.  It was through my broken relationships that I decided to embark on a journey of re-learning to seek God’s love first before anything else.

Then that’s when He led me to my darling, who I am now engaged to!

My future hubby and I have both gone through dark times and have been completely open about our brokenness.  Yet, we both had one thing in common: we sought the Lord during our times of hardship and waited for Him to answer our prayers.  As much as we wanted it to happen sooner rather than later, God had a greater plan: we weren’t ready for each other yet.  We both had to endure the pain of broken relationships to finally find the love God intended us to find.  And we ended up finding a love within each other as described in 1 Corinthians.

Sounds like a dream come true, if you ask me!

Leave a Reply

